Page 1 of 2
I've been playing my Firebird through my fender amp for about six months now, and I think it sounds pretty ****ing amazing.

What I don't understand is why every time I tell someone my set up, they make fun of me, and say that a Gibson through a fender will sound like shit (even fully grown men, guitar techs, have done this to me, including making squawking impersonations of how it would sound)

I've played through a marshall stack, several in fact, at stores and rehearsals. It doesn't make me want one, I like my amp a lot more.

So what's the deal? Why to people hate on this? And why do you hardly see any professionals playing with this type of set up? (I haven't seen any anyway)
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 RI Telecaster
'77 Deluxe Reverb
Sunface w/ SunDial
MXR Carbon Copy
Crybaby

Quote by Sid McCall
Epic win. He speaks the truth, boys and girls.

Founder of the Neutral Milk Hotel club PM to join~
i play a les paul through a fender amp.. brings out the cleans, IMO. though mine is solid state, so if i had a fender tube it would probly be even better. i have no problem with that setup at all.
Proud owner of a Gibby LP Custom and an all-original Vintage '62 Fender Jag

Quote by richwatkinson
Give 10 UGers a rope and ask them to pull. 4 will push, 1 will ask for buttsecks, 2 will tell you get an Ibanez and the last 3 will start complaining about Line6 Spiders.
well, iv played through a couple of marshalls and to be honest i dont really like it (they were solid state i think) but the sound of a fender amp is great. so dont worry wat people say because its wat u want not wat everyone else wants, plus it makes u pretty unique which is a good thing
that's cool man, thanks for the validation xD

I also forgot to mention that I play my les paul too, which has full humbuckers (as opposed to mini's)