Page 1 of 3
After a year I knew very little and could barely play Ode To Joy. But then I got a good music teacher so pretty much from that point out I wasn't self taught. But in my first year of self-taughtedness, I wasn't all that great.
The Walking Dead
^ ok yeah im learning theory ( i already know a bunch of scales and chords) and im gaining speed ive been playing for a year now is that good? i know a lot of parts of songs but only a couple songs i can play full length i guess u could say
im self taught ive been playing since september 4th, and im playing trivium songs, and i can play triviums "shred like me" almost perfectly, but i dont know what pentatonics means, and i dont know chords, just tabs, but im already writeing my own little songs, and stuff, i can play like light to flies by trivium, and a bunch of system of a down songs full length,
Last edited by GuitarHero0715 at Jan 7, 2007,
wat songs can u play full length?
Quote by screamingfool34
people here are idiot.
Quote by Mr_H_MASTER
the only good wahs out there are Slashs, Zacks, and Dimebags.
Quote by evan1234567
im to tired and confused to comprehend what you said.
I'm actually just over a year in playing, and I've taught myself a bit of theory, scales and learned a bunch of songs. I'd say I've also become pretty technically proficient as well. Being in a band helps a lot. My only problem is lack of original material, and my impatience when it comes to learning theory, but I do my best damnit!
i'm doing really well.

i can play alot of songs, i know some basic theory, and can jam with friends who have been playing twice as long as me and i can hold my own.

all thanks to UG and my cheap ass not wanting to pay for a teacher! haha, it's worked out well.