Hi there. This is the first pedal I'm going to be making and it's going to be out of wood. Well the case. I have to make the case. I'm not sure what a good pedal to start off with would be. I've never done it before. I need ALL the info and how to build a case. I have to build the case from scratch. If you guys can help me that would be awesome. I am keeping this simple because I don't have a lot of time.

Thanks and I will be back on later to talk more in detail, as I have to go to work right now.
Cheers,

Mike

EDIT: and yes I will be putting the wiring in later, I just need to know what a good pedal that won't be to hard is so that I can build the case for it now.
Gear:

Crappy Samick Guitar
4x12 Cabinet
Guitar Rig 2
Computer
Peavey Bass
Bass Master 200 Watt bass amp
A good pedal that's not too hard would be a Fuzz Face. There are many versions to be found, even one that runs on 1 transistor.

A wooden box...hmm...the problem with a wooden box is that it won't be as solid as a cast metal one. There's a reason why pedals are made of steel: you STEP on the them. A wooden box wouldn't be as strong...you need some tough joints with good glue.

You might wanna use some pretty thick wood aswell. Not just 4mm plywood that you get in hardware stores.
It would be pretty hard to make dovetails on something the size of a pedal, but I guess it would work. And also have a square stick on the inside of every corner.

EDIT: If you want a pedal that you can step on, you can probably buy metal enclosures in hardware strores where you live. If that doesn't work, try some metal dinnerware, like small bowls or those butter boxes (dunno what they're called, but I've seen some steel ones).
Last edited by sashki at Jan 8, 2007,