Ok, as many of you probably know, I just started playing the guitar two days before New Year 2007 and now I've mastered my first song like 5 days after I learned to play the guitar.. "How to save a life" by The Fray.

Now, my question is, how long will it take for me to be actually good at playing the guitar? Well, I know that its different for each person depending on how much dedication they put into it, their effort, and how fast they learn stuff.

But, like an estimate maybe?

How about if I started playing "Canon Rock" by Jerry C, how long do you guys think it will take me if I like say, practice one hour per day and more on the weekends. How long will it take for me to actually be able to play this entire music? Now, remember, I'm new to playing the guitar, it might take a while for me to learn those hammer ons and those slide thingies on this piece of music especially sliding from the last frets to the first frets hehe and getting it accurately.

I'm dedicated enough to learn this piece of music as its a good "show off" haha.
you cannot estimate a time really, people learn at different speeds...

As long as you put the time in practicing then you will improve, also if you ever get frustrated NEVER give up!

And... dont start with something too hard for yourself...
The general consensus for "good" is 2 years to my knowledge.

I have no help for you about "Canon Rock," though.
I'M IN THE FIGHT TO CURE CYSTIC FIBROSIS...MY LIFE DEPENDS ON IT!

Quote by JustRooster
I'm a straight man, but I'd put that surfcaster right in my mouth.

Quote by JD2k9
Well, life is like a penis.
Women make it hard.
Also, it's short but seems long when it gets hard.
Most of us practice about 2 to 3 hours a day, skipping some days.