a Behringer VD1 Distortion or a boss ds-1

keep in mind that i'm only a bedroom guitarist looking for a cheap distortion pedal to practise with so dont tell that those two suck and get something better, i won't be gigging or anything . Ill be playing them through a valve junior. My music ranges from jim hendrix to the smashing pumpkins. What are some of the pro and cos of those two pedals. if there are any similar priced distortion pedals please recommend some.

cheers
ds-1
my band

ESP LTD Viper 400
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Squier Fat Strat

Peavey EVH 5150
Peavey XXX Head
Roland Cube 30
Carvin 4x12 Cab
B-52 4x12 Cab

Boss GE-7
Boss NS-2
EH Big Muff Pi (Russian)
yeah i would go with the ds-1, great distortion for the bedroom guitarist but also good enough to be used by steve vai every once in a while, the only con to the ds though you can't really shape much of it... but hey its a good all round distortion to begin with
Ds-1

BC Rich Warlock
Peavey Rage 108 Trans-Tube Practice Amp
Boss ME-50 Multi-Effect Processor
Yamaha PSR-273 Keyboard
i have never used the behringer, but i have the ds-1 and for bedroom use its fine, but if you have a valve, junior, if you just crank that thing you know youll get natural, warm distortion, way better than any of those pedals. now if you want something that you can get feedback with though, the pedals will help, the ds-1, from my experience is pretty good, it has a level and gain controls, and a volume, you can get some bluesy distortion, to crunchy stuff, to metal, not too too heavy metal but enough for your purposes. you will end up getting some feedback though, and it gets very sensitive to picking and moving your fingers/hand. other than that its pretty good.
[B]Member of the Orange Revolution Club. Buy an Orange to join.
Member #16 of the Les Paul owners club, pm Waterboy799 to join.