I got an Ibanez Shred Hed kit for xmas, My dad decided to just go out and buy me a guitar because I have wanted to play for a while... I'm taking lessons and such but I find that maybe the neck on the guitar is too small.. Are there guitars that have a generally wider neck ? I think it might be best for me to change guitars even though I like this guitar, or maybe i'm just go bad at playing that I think this is hindering me. Anyway, I'm new to this so any input is good. Thanks
what is the guitar exactly? Also, what do you play?
I don't know what the guitar is exactly, the specs are Features:
GRG neck

Maple neck material

Basswood body

24/jumbo frets

Rosewood finger board

Standard bridge

STD C (H) neck PU

STD C (H) bridge PU

Pearl dot Inlay

Basswood Body
Basswood is a comparatively lightweight wood, which makes it very comfortable for extended playing. With a good balance of highs and lows, Basswood is right in between Alder and Mahogany in sound character.

24/Jumbo Frets
Jumbo frets offer easy playing for leads and chording.

Rosewood Finger Board
Rosewood offers a strong, bright sound and an attractive appearance with a long grain

I play (well trying) to play Incubus, but I would like to learn primarily soft rock.. Not really metal
if the neck fell unconfortable for you, you need a new guitar,

jackson guitars have awesome necks
This guitar is great for metal. I would love it lol.

Its not really suited to incubus, though theres no reason you couldnt play the song on this guitar. This guitar is too ballsy for incubus.
The pack came with an ibanez amp? Thats not the best for softer stuff either.

I would have thought a nice smooth thin neck would make it easier for you though.
Hey, if you ever want to play metal you've got a good guitar for it!.