Hey, I'm trying to play Metallica's Nothing Else Matters. If you know the song then you'll probably know it has some serious fingerpickin...

Anyways, I've been playing guitar for like...around 9 to 10 months...
And just about the only fingerpicking ive ever done is trying to strum a chord without a pick...and even that doesnt sound very good...:\
I have practised the intro and verse to Nothing Else Matters alot, and im getting ok...but everytime i try to change a chord, my timing is way off because i cant change chords and fingerpick at the same time.. (I dont think im very fast at changing chords...I play a lot of harder rock, and most of it is power chords...so im not good at open chords...)

Any suggestions and tips are VERY appreciated

and also when the song has the part where it has this chord, (arpeggio)

e-----------7--------|
b-----------8--------|
g---------9----------|
d-------9------------|
a-----7--------------|
e---0----------------|

i cant get the last 7 on the high e to sound...its muted cuz my index finger is muting it, and i cant get it to play...>

plz help me...

thx
practice. thats all i can say. keep playing it and playing it and playing it until you get it. you'll get frustrated and want to give up but dont. you'll never geta nywhere if you just give up. guitar is full of challenges.
1993 Jackson Dinky Professional XL (shred)
Modified Squier Strat (blues and anything)
Vox Valvetronix AD30VT
Boss DS-1 Distortion
Dunlop Original Crybaby GCB-95
practice the chord changes before you start finger picking, as far as the barre chord you can try moving youre index finger up or down make sure youre not hitting the crease, that takes practice too.
ibanez rocks
dude of coarse its going to be hard, thats why you practice. once u get used to something hard that you've been practicing it then becomes easier to play. good luck dude its easy once you get used to it =) practice practice practice then you can shred like a mudda fuka hehe rock on