I've decided I've had it with my piece of crap BC Rich Mockingbird. Aside from being a mediocre guitar, I find it hard to play, due to the thickness of its neck and its overall bulkiness. In addition, my hands small and my fingers are disgustingly short. I've been told Ibanez guitars have relatively thin necks and are cheap(er) to boot (I'm a relatively poor university student). I've done some shopping around and the SZ320/520 appeal to me. So, my question is, are they good guitars? How do the necks feel - are they easier to play for those of us with small hands/short fingers? Any other style/brand recommendations, for under $600 (CDN)?

I can't just go and try out a few guitars. There's only one music store in my city and they only sell crappy Fender knock-offs, so I have to order online.

PS: I like to play metal.

Last edited by Varulv at Jan 11, 2007,
i dk about the models you listed in particular but ibanez wizard necks are thin and fast. one of my friends has pretty small hands and he liked the wizard necks a lot. i like them too but prefer musicman necks. i dk wat the usd to cdn conversion rate is but for a good ibanez look into the s470s.
2006 Fender Deluxe Players Strat w/ Stephens Design Mojo pickups
Gibson SG Special
Carvin DC727 w/ Bareknuckle Nailbomb 7 and CWP 7
Mesa Boogie Mark IV head
Mesa Boogie 2x12 Cab MC90/EV200w

VP of Carvin Club but call me Il Duce
I used to play an RG350, and it's a very easy to play and relatively small guitar. I currently play a BC Rich Avenge Son Of Beast (10% smaller neck than a standard Son Of Beast, which is just a single humbucker beast made specifically for metal.) So I practically play a fancy Beast right now, and the RG350 is a good bit smaller. If size is a problem, this is an easy one.