Hey everyone,
I just started playing the guitar about a week ago. I found an older one in a closet, put new strings on it, and tuned it. Now the hard part is trying to figure out how to play it! I've been starting with basic chords. I can do an E-major chord pretty well, but I've tried the C-major chord and the D-major chord and they sound awful.

My problem is where exactly to place your fingers, how hard to push down on the string etc. When I play a chord, some chords make a metallic off-tune sound because I'm not pushing down hard enough, some just make a dull thud sound. I've tried moving my fingers, pushing down with different parts of my fingers, but I don't seem to able to fix the problem at all.

I was wondering could help with this. Thanks in advance!
It sounds like your fingers may be touching strings other than those which are ment to be played. Make sure that when you have your hand in the chord position that your fretty fingers arn't touching anything other than the note they are supposed to
Warwick Jazzman
Hartke 1415 140Watt
Boss Overdrive
Thanks for the reply. I figured it was something to do with that...how exactly should you place your fingers so that they don't hit anything else and actually sound like a chord?
press the strings with the tips of your fingers. try to get your fingers perpendicular to the fretboard, (coming straight down on). put your fingertips directly behind the fret, (the metal bar on the fretboard). place your thumb in the middle of the neck positioned behind the middle finger. appegiate each note (play each string of the chord one at a time) and make sure there is no buzzing. practice chord progressions - moving from one to another smoothly.

try this site to find chords and how they should sound:

http://www.chordbook.com/guitarchords.php
Epiphone Les Paul Prophecy GX
Epiphone Les Paul Ultra
Ibanez RG5ERX1
Fender MIM Telecaster
Fender Acoustic
Fender Supersonic Combo