i've been playing for 3 years and i already have a Fender Stratocaster, ESP LTD EX-50, and a Dean Baby ML....not sure if i want an Explorer....anyone know any pro's and con's about one?
They're honestly amazing in my expierence.
Probably one of the best models made.
They look kind of cheap but they play amazing.

Even comparable to the LP.
ESP LTD Viper-50
Dean AK48
Marshall MG-15
Peavey Sheffield 4x12
Peavey Transtube Supreme Head
Zoom 505 II
i own one. It's a really amazing guitar, but depending what you wanna play. For super quick shredding stuff its not that comfortable, but its wicked for metal rhythm and rock rhythm too. If your looking to play wicked riffs, that's the one. But it all come downs to what you are comfortable with really.
Renato
umm....would it be good for playing a bunch of Metallica and Megadeth style things?
rhythmically ya man itd be perfect. It all comes down to how much effort you put into learning the stuff you know.
Renato
oh yeah forgot, but about the solo's and and crazy riffs, would it be good for that?
i played one once. greatest thing about it is that its really comfortable playing standing up or sitting down. Overall, really nice weight and feel. of course, its a staple metal guitar, so its great for classic metallica and megadeth.

The little swoosh shape it has provides a perfect place to rest your arm, and hook your elbow to lift it up into the signature rock-out guitar pose too.
I personally love Explorers all around, Gibson and otherwise. But I would recommend trying one out. Not everyone can do the Explorer shape. When it comes to playing them, people tend to either love them or hate them.

As for playing lead, a lot of lead players use Explorers. Upper frets are easier to reach than on a Les Paul.
Guitars: Custom Lado Earth 2000-3, Custom ESP Explorer, BC Rich KKV, Gibson LP Studio, Greco SG, El Degas Stratocaster, Agile AL-3000, LTD EX-351

Rig:Marshall JVM410H + Marshall 1960A, Boss Noise Suppressor