Hi one of my friends whose a guitarist is playing bass for my band are there any exercises he can do that will make his fingers better for playing coz currently he can only use a pick
Quote by Aqua Dementia
I like to play this game where I'll see how many times I can look at a particular chicks ass or tits until I get caught.

Quote by WNxScythe
Fat chicks are different. They don't count, they aren't women.

Digitech Whammy Club!
When I started playing bass for my band, one of the things that I did a lot was just practice on one string, and then two, and so on and so forth. If it's a matter of just getting the right hand working (assuming he's right handed), then give him some easy bass lines to work with, like the one for "Smells Like Teen Spirit" by Nirvana. Then go to some not necessarily harder bass lines, but more complicated ones, like "Longview" by Green Day.
Dont be offended by this, but get yourself a real bassist.
Otherwise the Bass in all of your songs will probably suck..
All of the guitarist-turning-into-a-bassist-'cause-noone-else-wants-to think is horrible, the guitarist keep treating his bass like a weird guitar, and cant hadnle it properly that way.
Get him using his right hand's index and middle fingers. Tell him to practice playing this way at various tempos and on all the strings. Show him how he can do different combinations of using his index and middle fingers.

Key - i = index and m = middle
---------------------------------------
i m i m i m i m
i m m i m m i m m i
m i m i m i m i
m i i m i i m i i m i

See what I mean? Make sure he's also getting a consistent sound when playing with both fingers without a compressor.