I have an Ibanez RG1570 and I've never had any tuning problems with it until now. I used to always play in standard tuning, but recently I wanted to tune down half a step and I've been having some serious trouble.

Ok so I can tune it down grand, lock the strings again and everything is fine...for about 5 seconds. Pretty much immediatly after I tune down, it automatically tunes back up to standard tuning. So, I repeat the tuning down process but the same thing happens again. Not only that, but as this is happening the floyd rose sinks slightly more into the guitar each time, eventually causing the strings to rest on the pickups.

I'm new to floyd roses and I've never changed the strings or anything so I'm guessing I'm doing something fundamentaly wrong here. Does anyone have any idea what is going on?

Help would be much appreciated. :snyper:

With a Floyd, the string tension needs to be equaled by the tension provided by the springs in the back. It's a pain in the ass to set-up each time you change tunings, but then fairly easy to maintain thereafter. What is likely going to need to be done is that the screws holding the claw in the trem cavity need to be loosened a bit. Do this very slowly as a small movement will provide plenty of change in spring tension. If you still need help I can do a tutorial with pictures, if you wish.
^thanks for the quick replay, it's much appreciated.

By "the screws holding the claw in the trem cavity need to be loosened a bit", do you mean the screws that will cause all the action to be raised?

You should have something similar to this on the back:

The screws at the very top. Give them each a little turn to pull them out slightly, and then retune to desired pitch. (you'll have to tune multiple times to get it right.) Repeat until you get the bridge where you want it.
Ah i see, I'll give that a shot. Thanks a lot buzz, you've been really helpful.

Quote by Witch-king