Ok, i'm new to the whole floyd rose system, so take it easy on me. I've recently bought a used Ibanez 540 FM. Beautiful guitar, sounds great. But, i'm confused about the floyd rose. I can't pull up. I set the floyd rose to be parralel to the body. Right under the floyd rose is a spongy material, then under that the wood of the guitar. Is this guitar not ment to be able to have the floyd rose go up? or is this some form of a block I can remove? Or maybe i'm supposed to angle the floyd rose bridge higher so I can get the pitch to go up?
I can add picture if need be, any help is greatly appreciated
Thanks.
A picture would be helpful.

Many guitars fitted with floyd-rose system do not have the proper routing to allow you to be able to increase pitch very much by pulling up on the bar. I suspect this is the case with yours.
It sounds like there's a stop behind the trem - it's probably there to keep things secure during transit so you can take it out. Keep it though, you can use it if you even have to take the strings off, and it'll also be a help when changing strings (one at a time, of course!)
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Quote by steven seagull
It sounds like there's a stop behind the trem - it's probably there to keep things secure during transit so you can take it out. Keep it though, you can use it if you even have to take the strings off, and it'll also be a help when changing strings (one at a time, of course!)

Didn't even think of that.
ok heres the pics...
If there is a stop, how can I take it out?

if the guitar was routed...how much $ are we looking at to get that done? I doubt i'd do it. I wouldn't want anything to go wrong with the guitar.
Attachments:
IMAG00571.jpg
IMAG00561.jpg
Quote by CliffLives10
ok heres the pics...