I'm studying for a pre-calc test, and I have a practice problem thats completely stumped me, for any of the math geniuses out there, can you guys figure this one out? I have to verify that the following is a trigonometric identity:

[(cos x + 1)(tan x + sec x)]/(sec x + 1) = sin x + 1

Thanks so much!

Edit: to make it clearer to the human eye, I will write it like this as well -

(cos x + 1)(tan x + sec x) = sin x + 1
sec x + 1
Last edited by nirvana4lf at Jan 15, 2007,
Geez I rememeber trig iden's. Haha tough luck i cant help ya, Im in Calculus now and I can worry about that kinda stuff.
well lets see if i can help. i may not be able to but i'll send what i get anyway
Quote by drop-dead666
You're a retard, read Scourges posts. There is already a system folder, why do I need a system32.
Quote by axethrower13
well lets see if i can help. i may not be able to but i'll send what i get anyway

thanks so much
get the Sec x +1 out of the denominator so it will look like :

(cos x + 1)(tan x + sec x) = (sinx +1)(sec x +1)

then multiply it out I reckon that you have to solve in terms of Sec, Cos, Tan, or Sin.
Have you ever went to put on a pair of underwear, but there weren't any, so you started runnin around the house flailin your arms while nude?
Quote by Maverick64
get the Sec x +1 out of the denominator so it will look like :

(cos x + 1)(tan x + sec x) = (sinx +1)(sec x +1)

then multiply it out I reckon that you have to solve in terms of Sec, Cos, Tan, or Sin.

when verifying, you cant work on both sides. only one side, and thats gonna be the more complex side. so i cant do that.
well thats the same as (cosx+1)/secx+1)*(tanx+secx)/secx+1) do you see that?
Quote by drop-dead666
You're a retard, read Scourges posts. There is already a system folder, why do I need a system32.
Quote by axethrower13
well thats the same as (cosx+1)/secx+1)*(tanx+secx)/secx+1) do you see that?