Dont know if this is the right place, but on all the recording forums it was about posting what you have recorded....My question is what are the basic things that i need to start recording......What software, what type of sound card for my computer etc....Any help would be greatly appreciated
im no expert on the subject, so i cant offer you too much help. particularly when it comes to sound cards. however, i found an FAQ on UG which may address some of your questions if you havent already seen it:

click here

hope that helps
i use a laptop with some sort of creative soundcard. it's not that great . I use a mic which i got with some type of language learning program, or i use a headset. For acoustic i just clip the mic to my shirt and do that. sounds okay i guess, you have to adjust mic sensitivity. For program i just use Cool Edit Pro 2, it's Adobe Audition or something now i think. for electric guitar and stuff i try to put the mic like... 3 feet from the amp and stand away from it. I dunno, nothing i do costs much money. the mic was like 10 bucks seperate, the headset is 15, the program i got from a friend, who got it off torrent i believe. so yea. just find a small room without too much noise.
Equipment:
ESP LTD EC2005
Boss DS-2 Turbo Distortion
audacity is a siple recordng software tht i use, and also, can jst record without standing 3 feet away. heard of converters? you place it on your guitar jack (output) it converts it into a small jack, kind of like uhm the size of the jack in a headphone of a mp3 player, and you can plug it into the microphone plug of your pc, ist like the guitar is ur microphone... and of course if u have an extra cable, to prevent damage to the pc speakers (esp. laptops) u can attach another converter to the headphone plug all the way to ur amplifer, the amplifier will act as the speaker..
Bare Minimum

This Thingy ($2.95 at Radioshack)
And sndrec32.exe (Free on every version of windows)