I just started playing some more bluesier stuff on a sidenote from learning like a million Lamb of God/ other heavy metal songs, and wow. I just feel it so much more. Improv and all that jazz just comes so much nice and cooler.

I think I'm opening up some new doors here, gimme some good blues songs to learn on the guitar. I wanna see where this goes.
-GEAR-

Schecter C-1 XXX
Squier Fender Stratocaster
Peavey 6505+
Marshall 1960A Lead Cabinet
Peavey Studio Pro 112
MXR Carbon Copy

Check out my band:www.myspace.com/silentsurrendertx
Moving from heavier stuff, I'd think SRV (stevie ray vaghn (sp?)) would be best to move to. He's more agressive than most blues artists.

There's plenty more, but Im lazy.
i dont know what kind of blues you are into but anything by stevie ray vaughn its just great
Yes, the blues is awesome. I think that in blues/jazz, you can express yourself with your music a lot more. I recommend listening to some artists like SRV, who's more of high-energy texas blues, or some older artists like Robert Johnson (Slide Delta Blues), B.B. King, Albert King, T-Bone Walker, Buddy Guy, or even Jimi Hendrix, whose blues works are pretty good.
Huzzah! It is I, S0ulja, the Duke Of Swiss, 3rd member of the Royal order of cheese!

PM Soulfly_freak or sock_demon to join
12 bar blues is a pattern by which a majority of blues music (and to a smaller degree, jazz music) is based on.

the pattern is

1 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 4 - 4- 1- 1- 5- 4- 1- 5

to give you an example, in C the 12 bar blues would be

C - C- C- C- F- F- C- C- G- F- C- G

(each letter/number being 1 bar)
Quote by T.S.R.
what?
if i were a midget...id go masturbate in public because...hey, im a midget and i can get away with anything

Quote by yawn
I heard Hitler was a pretty good guitarist back in his day...

Quote by guitar?
You're a towel.
zeppelin has some blues based songs like Since I've Been Loving You
Clapton is the man if it comes to blues. well... maybe rock blues.
Allman Brothers Band is great too.