Hi, I've been playing guitar for about 5 years now and I am pretty new to this forum, although I have been looking through it for a while.

I play a strat and play through a pod 2.0, but its not great. I'm just not getting the sounds I want.

My question is do you think the XT is a big step up, or do u think I should get pedals.
I'm not really clued up on pedals.

If so what pedals ?
depends..what effects do u want?

definitely not the xt or any other multi-rack if you want good wah, but if you use a shitload of effects, it will save you some money...i only use distortion and wah so i have individual pedals
Quote by bi-ah!
this is UG
of course they're going to say
0H it'5 @ jAcK50l\l!??!?!
iT i5 TeH p\/\/naG3!!!

but yeah its fine
I mostly play some Hendrix and Clapton stuff, so would I just need like a distrotion and chorus???

Also, whats the difference between all the distortion pedals. U get distortion, super distortion and Metal aswell ?
the pod xt live is the way to go. the wah works extremely well and you can choose between different kinds. All different kinds of effects and amp models too. I use this thing to record also and its pretty much awesome. Straight USB to my MAC. You wont be dissapointed with this.
you can download other peoples settings too cutstomtone.com , For example, you could download the eric clapton tone or whatever you're looking to achieve.
the xt live is nice.....and the wah's are cool only complaints i have are:

1. you cant toggle the wah on/off with your feet (at least i havent found a way to do it yet) you have to set it to 2 different presets. 2 identical sounds just one with the wah on and one with it off. kinda irritating

2. when you set the pedal to 0 it still has wah on it. so basically once the wah is on...it stays "wah-ing" no matter how far down the pedal is. so ireally dont use it much. but the classic distortion and chorus mods are nice. also tons of amp/cab combinations.