Hi everyone,

I have been playing bass for about 6 months and have progressed quickly. Despite defending the fact that the bass is not just a guitar for people who can't handle 6 strings, my friends are very amused that now i want to buy an acoustic! (Or do I?!)

Now i'm playing bass (which i love), i've got rock, funk and blues covered. However, i want to be able to play all the poncey stuff i love, like Radiohead, Coldplay, Snow Patrol, Damien Rice, James Blunt etc. To be able to do this, would i want a fully acoustic or an electro acoustic?!

-Does the electro-acoustic, apart from being louder (duh), have a different sound to acoustic?
-Would i be able to play it through my bass amp?
-Would it mean i could get away with playing songs that should technically be played on electric guitar (for example when Naive by The Kooks sounded better on my friend's electro acoustic than on his electric?
-Could i run an electro-acoustic through my effects pedal?

Or should i just sod all that and get a good ol' fasioned six string that doesn't need plugging in?

I would be very grateful if you could let me know of your opinion or any guitars that would be particularly good to buy (my budget is £300 but i would rather be spending £200).

Thanks! Zac.
i like electro acoustics, but i cant rele give u much advice soz.

except if ur gonna play it live it makes it way easier.
At £200 you won't get a decent quality electro-acoustic. go with an acoustic. quality will be better and you can just mic it or get a soundhole pickup if you're going to be performing at a largish venue
Electro acoustics don't sound different, except for the fact that many of them have smaller bodies, since they don't need to worry so much about natural amplification.

You would be able to play it thru the bass amp, but I would suggest investing in an Acoustic Bass Amp eventually, not required though.