The other guitar player in my band just recieved an extra 3500 bux from a scholarship that he doesn't need for school so he wants to spend some of it and get a new amp and sell his rivera K-100 and possibly his Marshall 1960a cab. He normally asks me about amps because i know a little about midrange amps, but he is looking at Engl's and Bogners and i have no experience with them cuz i have never had the option. I have been to all the guitar centers within 4 hours from here and they have mesa's and marshalls and thats about it. So if you guys have experience with those high end amps that he could get used for like 2.5k for the head let me know what you know. also which cabs would be best, or if possible if the marshall would be fine. We play a mix between in flames, Lamb of god and a slight As I Lay Dying influence. thanks tons.
The 1960A cab is fine - its a great cab. About a head, I Marshall have a new head the JVM410H which is 100 watts and 4 channel, I'm getting one soonish and theyre supposed to be very good and in budget (£900 - $1600?)
My Gear :
Fender American Strat in Metallic Red
EHX Big Muff
Boss ME-50
Boss SD-1
Fender 15 Watt Amp (Upgrade soon to a Marshall )
Red Furry guitar strap

John Frusciante - The Greatest Guitarist EVER
i forgot to mention i want the distortion to mesh well with my JCM 2000 DSL. Unfortunatly i don't have the same "problem" as him.
I dont think the distortion needs to match that much. But a Marshall JVM would match your JCM with a little more gain for solos etc. He doesnt need to spend all the money on an amp alone, he could always get some effects as well

If he wants to get an amp though and nothing else, how about a Soldano Super Lead Overdrive. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Soldano-SLO100-Super-Lead-Overdrive-Head?sku=489125
Ive heard good things about them for the style of music he likes but Ive personally not tryed one out.
My Gear :
EHX Big Muff
Boss ME-50
Boss SD-1
Red Furry guitar strap