Right, so I'm thinking about getting my first acoustic guitar. I've been playing electric for about 7-ish months, so I'm not a total noob.

Anyways, my guitar teacher recommended the Yamaha FG730S. I like the color choice and the 20$ price difference on the FG720S, however. But I have no idea how the differences in wood affect the sound, so could somebody please explain how the FG720S would sound different than the FG730S?

FG730S: http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/buy_yamaha_fg730s_solid_top_acoustic_guitar?full_sku=103114294

FG720S: http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/buy_yamaha_fg720s_acoustic_guitar?full_sku=519168%2e001

Thanks alot,
Quote by cubedeathk

No my friends Dinosaurs walked this earth with Man.

DEFINITELY go for the FG730S. Are you sure it's a $20 price difference between the two? Last time I checked its a $100 difference. Either way, definitely save up for the 730. I've played both and the sound difference is pretty significant. If you're really up to it you could even go for the FG750S, which is another $100 more expensive than the 730.
I'm the proud owner of a 730s. Check out the review on this very site... I could not be happier.

And the difference between the two is outstanding. The 720 has nato back and sides, versus the vastly superior rosewood back/sides on the 730. Such a warmer, rounder tone, the quality of the binding and fretwork is much higher, sturdier built in general and the spruce they use for the top looks absolutely stunning on the 730.
And yet, to me, what is this quintessence of dust? Man delights not me: no, nor woman neither... nor women neither.
I have a 730S and love it - have not played the 720, so I defer to those that have played both as to how they differ in sound. Question on the Rosewood though - I don't think the sides and back are solid rosewood, but laminated on (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) - in that case, how much would the Rosewood truly affect the sound? Isn't it pretty much cosmetic?