I'm likely to get a job this summer and I wanna save up for a really nice guitar, I've been playing for almost 3 years or so, so my version of really nice might be more slack than that of others, but anyway, what are your thoughts on the gibson explorer, it seems nice, reviews are great, just want to learn a little more
Solid guitar. You can't really go wrong. Get a more style specific amp and it'll work for what you need.
We're only strays.
Can't go wrong w/ a Gibby ever, you want to see a nice guitar? Check the classified gear forum for the DPZ I am selling if you like Explorers
1980 Gibson Explorer e/2
1979 Gibson Les Paul Black Beauty
2006 USA Jackson Select RR1T
So, would you say it would work well with a Traynor YCV50 Blue combo amp? I think it's a pretty nice amp, it could use an extension speaker maybe but I like it, but would that be pretty good for the explorer?
Yeah if you like the sound then go for it. There's no real set "good" combination of guitar + amp.
Every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you
Traynor... sell it and get a JCM2000 DSL100 and that Explorer will sing
1980 Gibson Explorer e/2
well, I don't really plan on selling it, I just bought it like half a year ago or so, I like the sound and everything from it, of course I'll most likely get a new one within the next year or two, I just like getting new stuff but going from an Epi LP-100 to a Gibson Explorer is a pretty giant leap I think.
get the explorer theyre sick
deff try 1 before you buy though so can mske sure you like the neck and stuff
Guitars:
Parkwood PW320M
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Epiphone C-40 willie nelson signature
Squier Strat
Some beat up acoustic from '68

Amps:
Vox Ad50vt
Crate xt15r

Effects:
Vox Clyde McCoy Wah
Explorers are pretty versatile, it should be a good combo.

I'm going to get one eventually and I play grindcore and metalcore; adversely, there have been classic rock, blues and other musicians that have used Explorers.
We're only strays.