this is a total noob question, but what does it mean when ppl say o this band are sell outs??
it means they are writting music just because its popular just to get albums sells and not staying true to their roots

like for example kiss put out a disco album just cause that was popular music at the time looking for high album sells just to make money
no it isnt aways pathetic, because some bands really do sell out. but its way overused.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
it has nothing to do with "roots." is has to do with music fans getting angry when other people besides them like a band. it's called being selfish.
no if a band pisses on thier fans just to make money, the band has sold out and they are the ones being selfish, though like i said, nowadays the term is way overused.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
Quote by paintITblack39
When bands make for money.

Exactly. For example, Metallica making a lullaby album for babies... Now that's being a sell out in my opinion.
It's basically when a band comprimises their music in order to sell more records and make more money.
Administrator of the "Guitarists born in 1991 Club" PM me or greendayguitar to join.

Feel free to add me
metallica is making a lullaby for babies.. lol.. that is like a lube company making chocolate
A good hypothetical example would be Muse doing a screamo album. (Which would never happen.)
For the record, they're not really making a lullaby album, are they?
Quote by GuitarManiac09
Exactly. For example, Metallica making a lullaby album for babies... Now that's being a sell out in my opinion.

Why?

I thought that sounded very nice
when a band completely changes their way of music, and their fans get pissed off and call them sell outs
My Gear:
ESP LTD EC-1000 SW
ESP LTD EC 500 STBC
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Dean Razorback Two Tone
Ibanez 7 string
Randall RH150G3 Head and Cab