I have been playing guitar for about 3-4 months, but don't seem to be getting any better. I think it's my bad practice regimen, so I am asking the experts here to create one for me. I would like it to be at least 30 min, but it can be as long as 60 min. I want to concentrate on chords and scales as those give me the most problems. I will mainly be practicing on an acoustic, but also on a Strat at times.

I am looking for a very specific regimen, so nothing like "just do chords and scales". Something very specific like: Do each major chord 10 times, then each minor chord 10 times, then X scale 10 times, then Y scale 10 times, etc. I need something very specific like that which will help me build speed, finger memory, and a better stretch.

Is anyone able to help me out?
My gear...

Samick Les Paul (AV6VB) Guitar w/ SD Alnico2/JB
Marshall AVT150H halfstack
Schecter Stiletto Elite-4 Bass
Ampeg BA112 Bass Amp
5 mins - stretching hands + warming up, playing stuff you already know to get used to playing guitar again.

5-15 minuits - chords, play every chord a few times, major then minor. then try to play every one without tabs or a guide.once you have mastered that, both open chords and 5ths [powers], then prehaps chords when using a capo.

15-30 - scales, pentatonics in every position is a good start, then learn major and minor blues chords, and prehaps some modes.

of course, you could then play for HOURS learning new songs, improving speed, posture, positioning, and just as important, getting your tone right!
.My Rig.

Ibanez GAX75
Laney LV300T
Behringer UD100 ULTRA DISTORTION [lol]
Dano Octave Metal
Dunlop Crybaby
Thanks, but need something more specific than that. Something I can print out and just look at it without having to decide on which chords or scales to do. Need a step by step regimen.
My gear...

Ampeg BA112 Bass Amp
You want someone to played the damned instrument for you while you're at it?
Originally Posted by apocalypse13