Float freely? Meaning what? As far as I know, only Floyd-Rose type trems are "free floating". You'd have to buy a new trem and re-rout the body. Costy.
what type of strat?

keeping the bridge loose can make it a REAL pain keeping it in tune.
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
Quote by jj1565
what type of strat?

keeping the bridge loose can make it a REAL pain keeping it in tune.

Actually, the way it's designed, it's by keeping the bridge floating that keeps it in tune.
^^Not in my experience. When you have the vintage style bridges floating they go out of tune all over the place. I guess if you had locking tuners and a roller nut then you might be a little better off, but I'm not rich enough to have tried it yet.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
VIDEO Carl Verheyen's Strat set-up:

http://www.gitaarnet.nl/video/carlverheyen/carlverheyen-setup-hoog.ram

EVH sums handling the trem like this:

"You have to know the bar and what it does to your tuning when you use it. If you go down in pitch with it (not quite a divebomb), you should take note of which strings are affected and compensate with some light yanking after the trem has settled back to it's position of balance."

The secret is a to keep the whole path of the strings, from the last winding on the tuning peg, to the bullet at the end of the string friction-free. This means a quality, clean-cut nut cut exactly for the gauge of strings you are using and well lubed nut (teflon) and bridge (oil) at all the points where the strings make contact.