I have a Fender Fat Stratocaster and I want to get the kill switch thing that Tom Morello has. Instead of buying a new guitar, how can I get another volume knob for one of my pickups so I can do that kill switch thing that he does during solos..

(Guerrilla Radio solo)
You know he has a Strat, right? I think on his Soul Power guitar he just has a switch that turns the whole guitar on and off.

On the other hand, if you want a new volume pot just try your local guitar shop and grab a 250K volume pot. You'll want a wiring schem so that you can hook it up right and everything though.
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
It'll probably be a 5, with it being a Strat. Anyway, good luck dude. It shouldn't be too hard, if you've had experience with this stuff.
Quote by Lcollins1
Hmmm the easiest way would probably be to buy a "concentric pot" which is basically two pots stacked on top of eachother.

PICTURE - http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0006ZRN7C.01-A1YL6JT47QH4O4._AA280_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Is it a 3 or 5 pos switch? If you let me know, I'll get you a wiring diagram

Lewis

Actually, do what he says, he's cleverer than me.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
you could bring your guitar into a shop and have them modify one of the tone knobs, but doing the killswitch effect with the strat's five way pick up selector would be kind of annoying. i had an actual killswitch put on my tele, it doesnt cost that much.
Quote by Lcollins1
Hmmm the easiest way would probably be to buy a "concentric pot" which is basically two pots stacked on top of eachother.

PICTURE - http://images.amazon.com/images/P/B0006ZRN7C.01-A1YL6JT47QH4O4._AA280_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg