to switch from electric guitar to bass?
I really want to play bass because everyone plays the guitar and i've been playing it for 2 years and have gotten nowhere.
Has anyone else switched? How hard of a transition is it?
"Cause if my baby don't love me no more... I know her... sister will."
-Red House by Jimi Hendrix
It's that hard of a transition at all really. I found jamming a little easier with a little bit of theory under my belt already.

Just buy a cheap beginner bass and give it a shot.
Don't switch, play both.

You'll know the notes on the fretboard and basic left hand fingering technique, so that helps but you'll still have alot to learn. You won't just magically become a great bass player.
"You can practice to attain knowledge, but you can't practice to attain wisdom." - Herbie Hancock
What kind of stuff would I need to learn?
learn some worship songs, most of them are super easy to learn and play.

i've recently switched and it's not too hard. it's a little odd getting used to the longer neck and wider frets, but once you've got that down, you're pretty much set to begin the road to being a good bassist
Millie, my Peavey Grind Fiver
Peavey BAM 210 350w combo amp
Sansamp Bass Driver DI
Modded Ernie Ball VP Jr.
Monster Bass Cable, 21'

Quote by NakedBassist
Welcome to bass, you'll f*cking love it
I just picked up my bass again after six months playing guitar, you have to get used it shouldn't be to hard, exept for slapping and maybe the right hand technique
Quote by NoobMuncher3000
BRILLIANT!

Quote by weemansyndrome

(__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
I think it depends on what kind of music you play on guitar, I recently switched and i used to be a metal guitarist so it was a bit hard to get " the groove"
Quote by Fast_Bear
The left havd can be alot the same, especially on a short sale Bass. But the right hand is alot different!