i have real trouble slapping on D, not popping, i dont know why but i just cant get a clear note and i always end up hitting A and i get a horible muted thump noise.

can you actualy slap on D? i know its not very common but for songs like "all around the world"?

any pointers you guys could give me? thnx

edit: ive been playing for about a year and a half and using slap for a few months, im getting better but is it just practise and time i need?
the slapping in around the world is one the e string (if in fact your reffering to the rhcp song)
but to help , try to make the slap in a more downward motion
Call Me Joe
Quote by wesleyisgay
IF MATT DAMON DIES TOMMAROW

FUK

Communist Mormon of 2.21.19.8

Caffeine Head of The Bass Militia
I'm no expert but i'm pretty sure most people slap on E and A not D, and they pop D and G. That's what i've heard anyway. I don't slap D only pop it but each to their own i suppose.
signature
I have a friend, he's a total slap bass elitist - he's a nice enough guy but show him a pick and he's all 'BACK BEAST BACK!!!! THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELS YOU THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELS YOU!!!!' Most irritating. He slaps the D string alot, it sounds horrible. It could be the way your bass is set up, it could be that the D string is just not meant for slapping. With my bass, it does sound appalling so yeah. Go for it, but if it sounds nasty, don't do it, that's my advice.
Quote by Sizzleby
I could watch your avatar for hours.
Quote by thewho65
It's official: apparently, the U.K. is a nation of trolls.

ORANGE AMPLIFIERS Endorser and Proud.
You can slap on any string you want and for some songs slappin on D sounds pretty damn good. Try to mute your A string and just practice until you get it. Any good slapping takes a lot of practice.
I got in everyone's hostile little face. Yes, these are bruises from fighting. Yes, I'm comfortable with that. I am enlightened.
Funky Muthafucka Of The Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 To Join.
UG Irish Clan-Póg mo thóin