I've been playing guitar for roughly six months, and so far have mainly been using mainly an acoustic (washburn D32SCE). I have been self taught so far, and I just thought id like to see how i am progressing in the eyes of others. So far i can proficiently play:
- open chords (minor,maj,min7th &, maj7th)
- 5 and 6 string barre chords (minor, majo, min7th, maj7th)
- power chords
- minor penatonic shape 1
- C major scale in 1st position (have not yet delved into the major scale much)
- First 30 pages of the book Berklee: modern method for guitar volume 1 (slowly working my way through this one)

Ive learnt several songs, most of them all the way through. A snapshot of these would include:
led zep - stairway
- over the hills & far away

pink floyd - wish you were here
- comfortably numb
- brain damage

plus various tunes by radiohead, coldplay, jack johnson etc

Anyhow, just wondering whether my progress is ok for 6 months?, or should i be practising more (i play 1-2 hours a day).
Also, any advice on what direction to take now would be great. Since picking up the guitar 6 months ago its been the highlight of my day; i am very eager to learn all there is to know about the instrument and maybe, in 10 years, be able to master it like others have....jimmy page, what a madman.
any feedback would be great guys/girls,
cheers
harry
We would have to hear you play for a truthful answer.
Liberation is the snake! Worms no longer moan.
You are doing great m8!!! Hone up your skills (be patient,work slowly and methodicly and try to eliminate every mistake you can see),try to master the songs and make them sound as close to the originals as you can (really good choices btw!!) so that you can track your mistakes...Then try to focus on theory and MOST OF ALL know the fretboard,so you really know what you are playing...Its the ultimate weapon I think (havent done that yet myself )...Keep it up man!!!