OK guys, first off lemme say this a n00b question and probably a retarded one, but, here goes. I am thinking about replacing my pickups, right? Right now I have humbuckers in my guitar. I was thinking about getting single coils, but if i took the 'buckers out and put singles in, would that leave a big hole in my guitar where the other coil would be. Again, sorry for the question, I'm kinda new to this.
Ben
^ Does your guitar have a pickguard? If it does, you may be able to get a replacement pickguard that has single coil slots rather than humbuckers. Otherwise, yeah, big holes. You could also go with a humbucker-sized soapbar, which is essentially a big single coil. It'll brighten up and twang up your sound a bit.
Hi, I'm Peter
TYPICALLY, you can't put single coils in a humbucker made guitar and vise versa.
But you an rout it sometimes. Does your guitar have a pickguard?

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
No, no pickguard on the guitar. But I've heard stuff about those soapbars, but i heard their just like humbuckers.
Ben
well, if you have 2 humbuckers, you could put a single coil in the neck position an slant it so there's not a big hole.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22

Quote by Axelfox
Quote by muffinman123192
No, no pickguard on the guitar. But I've heard stuff about those soapbars, but i heard their just like humbuckers.

Real soapbars are actually big single coils. The resulting sound is between a traditional single coil and a humbucker. I really like my guitar with soapbars. Gorgeous, warm cleans and puts out good distortion. What you could do in your case is get 2 new 4-conductor humbuckers and then put in a push-pull switch for coil tapping. That way, you can get single coil tones when you want them and humbucker tones when you want them.
Hi, I'm Peter