Okay so im about to go and take lessons again but im always hearing about how the bands i listen to were self taght on guitar. so what do you think? is in worth 20 bucks for every lesson or should i just keep teaching myself. And if tom hess is about to reply to this please, i beg you please, use small words i can understand.
SubJunKtiVe
well I am a first time guitar player and I started with guitar lessons.. It definately helps in my eyes, I couldn't do anything before now I am starting to be able to play one of my fav songs, it's up to you though.. I pay about the same amount
Lessons are good. Ive never had any but Id say theyre good as long as there is something you want to know or learn. Loads of famous people are self taught but loads are taught as well. I think you need a mix of both - lessons for technique and you're own learning to get you're "sound" and "style"
My Gear :
Fender American Strat in Metallic Red
EHX Big Muff
Boss ME-50
Boss SD-1
Fender 15 Watt Amp (Upgrade soon to a Marshall )
Red Furry guitar strap

John Frusciante - The Greatest Guitarist EVER
Depends on where you want to go with your guitar playing.

I am self taught, but I am not a great guitar player. I am only now getting into things like scales and improvisation, it's coming slow, probably would have been faster have I had taken lessons, BUT, I only play acoustic as a hobby and for some good 'ol campfire sing-a-longs!

If you play lead electric, you might want to consider lessons if you want to advance faster, however, some people becoming great without lessons, it all comes down to you (^^ see post above).