Im not sure what has happened. I've been playing guitar for 2+ years now (Maybe 3? I cant remember)..Anyways 1 week ago my wrist started to hurt -- the one week when I couldnt stop practicing. I was playing my first show last weekend. So I practiced the whole week on it - not excruciating pain - until the end of the week. It's now at the point where it can hurt doing simple things like lifting things with the wrist. Has any one else encountered this? I dont have bad form, but the songs I was playing required alot of thumb use.

Just wondering on any ideas? I have obviously turned the guitar playing every day down to 10 minutes or less (from 4 hours ). I really would like some advice or similar experiences before I book a doctor.
do you get enough calcium? drink milk and stuff. It might not just be a guitar thing. You might just be weak in the wrists.
top axes:
Taylor GS8
Fender American Strat (w/DiMarzio pickups)
Epiphone Les Paul
Quote by noah22791
do you get enough calcium? drink milk and stuff. It might not just be a guitar thing. You might just be weak in the wrists.

I drink tons of milk. I might go pick up some vitamins or something though. Thanks. Anybody else?
I have had the same problem. Warm up slow before you play. After you are warm stretch you hands. Make a fist and stretch out one finger at a time. Then straighten your fingers and push one back. Your hand will feel better and it will improve playing. You can pick up hand strengtheners at any sports store for like $2 they help a lot with cramping and will improve your playing. And don’t forget to do finger exercises when you practice. Guitar is like a sport the you need to be in shape to do it.
Quote by MoreCowbell SB