My brand new Seagull S6 has a nasty fret buzz on the 5th and 6th strings, mostly on the 7th-9th frets. I just got it a week ago and noticed it when I got home. I took it to the store and he adjusted the truss rod. It seemed better but now it's back.

I'm brand new to playing and this is my first guitar. I had a very good player try it and it still does it, it's not my technique.

Is this normal? What should I do?
Taylor GS8 Rosewood/Spruce
Last edited by bobvanjr at Jan 28, 2007,
It's possible that your guitar isn't up to standard. Have you asked the people at your guitar store or shop to look at it?(other than ajusting the truss) If you had another player who is good play it then the assumption is, its not your playing, (as you said). I get buzz on my S6+Spruce but it's not severe enough to really notice, for me pressing firmly and ajusting my fingers to a different place on the frets eliminates this problem. Did you consider changing strings? There is the possibility of the factory strings being faulted. Hope this helps.

~Zelly
Originally Posted by Sir-Shoelace
manliest string guage? barbed wire.
I'd start with a different set of strings, the Godens that are on it aren't that great, if that doesn't work start looking for a high fret. You may have to take it a shop and have it checked for a high fret (I had one). Put a set of Daddario's on it, if you have the Spruce top go for PB's, if the cedar top 80/20 Bronze.
After I got the fret buzz under control I got a saddle buzz, if this happens install a bone saddle, do it anyway later on makes a world of difference in tonal quality. I don't recommend the Daddario's lightly, I've tried 10 different brands and mine likes these the best, don't ask me why because I don't know, they just work the best.