.. And liked it. As I am really new to soloing and improvising, it really helped. (Plus I'm self taught, so a good video is always nice.)

But there's one thing I don't get. Say we have a song in the key of G.

The chord progression goes G, D, C. (SOmething I think sounds good :-D and very common >.<

So, when the G chord is going, by the rythm guitar player or in my head, I would play with some major scale in G. But when D comes, would I play in the Major D scale, like the chord, or would I use the 5th mode whose name I cant't remember? The same with C - would I use the 4th mode or the Ionian like always?

And plus, under any of those chords, I can just switch to their relative minor scale, right? Instead of G major, E minor, instead of C, A minor, and Bm instead of D? Or, if I have to switch modes after every chord change, would I be using C in the fourth mode and then A in the Dorian mode, (the mode "two steps" back?)?

Hope I got the question across right. Thanks!
Look at the section about arpeggiating(sp?) the chord changes. It is alot easier than scale hopping.

Also, if your chords are all in the same key, you could play in the same scale position, but the backing chords would turn it into a different mode, giving it a really interesting sound.

You don't have to hop around scales when your chords are all in same key, rather just target root notes of the chord changes or play arpeggios to match the chords.
Arpeggiating the chords would basically be playing the major scale of the current chord, though, right? Because you'd probably be messing around the arpeggio shape?

And if you played in the same scale, but accented the notes that are in the chords you are currently playing, you're kind of switching modes in a passive way?

Well, theres nothing stopping somebeody from doing both, but I'm just wondering what's "standard."