Hi everyone.

I have some insurance money coming through in May 07 of about £2000, which i think is $4000 at the current rate in US Dollars.

Anyway, the current situation stands like this. I have three guitars: a squire strat, a Minarik Lotus, and an Epiphone Les Paul Standard that i bought second hand for £200. Now, the only decent sounding guitar is the Epiphone. The other two are very basic and arent phyisically nice to play, so if selling them would be of use to fund towards new hardware then i am willing to do so.

Here's the confusing part. For sound, i am running the guitars through my computer, using Amplitube v2.1 to generate the amp sounds. However, i am using very standard 2.1 speakers that are not of any decent quality, but are ok for the most part. However, i am sick of going digital as i feel left out having no amps/cabs to see or touch and fiddle with, so i want to go the traditional route.

Now, it has been my dream for the past 2 years since i started playing to own a real Gibson Les Paul Standard in Cherry Sunburst flavour. I can imagine i am not the only one who has said that over the years! However, these do produce really great tones for all my needs and styles, but i know that to get the most out of it, i will need a good amp and extras.

So if a Les Paul Standard sets me back £1400, thats £600 left for an amp. I don't gig at all, i only play for personal pleasure, so i dont think ill need a hugely powerful amp. However, as i play classic rock more than any other, i feel like a good Marshall will be the best option, especially as i want to get the "women" tone like slash did so very often. However, i am confused as to what to get. I know nothing about amp models or cab models or tubes, only that they cost quite a bit

So, could anyone recommend me some amps and accessories? Will i need a few effects pedals too, such as reverb etc? I can afford to buy those if need be at a later date, as i dont want to go wild and spend a rediculous amount