Ok. So I'm one of those people who feels the need to have something no one else has. So I bought this '72 Telecaster Deluxe Reissue shortly after they were introduced in 2004. . At the time this guitar not a whole lot of people were using them, but now they seem to had gained super popularity. So taking my beloved telecaster and doing a good bit of personalization. I've already ordered olympic white paint and nitro clear coat from Reranch. Supposedly, alot of old white fenders arent clearcoated because clear coat gives the white a yellow tint. I'm going to clear coat it in hopes i get a vintage white or ivory, and I'm also using nitrocellulose for resonance purposes and in hopes it will yellow as it ages. I have no experience in refinishing guitars, but ReRanch provides several super-dummyfied sets of instructions, so I think I'll be ok. I also would LOVE to install a Bigsby, But this will be a task as 1) the Bisby Tele conversion kits are made for conventional single coil Tele's, 2) It would require me installing a bridge similiar to those on Gibsons, which require two massive holes, and 3) the guitar is currently string through-body, which means I would need to fill those six holes, which I imagine cant be good for resonance. I would also love to switch out the cheap pots, and the quite-muddy "Wide Range" pickups. (which have nothing in common with Fenders original Love-designed Wide Range pickups, noted for thier clearness.) To add to the list of problems I need to find something that will strip the current nylon finish. So yeah, I'll be posting pictures as i progress, and tips or advice would be EXTEMELY appreciated. Tell me what you guys think!
a little lie says you'd like nothing better.....
i dont have much to say except i am curious to how this will turn out
GEAR
- Epi Les Paul Custom (emma)
- Orange Tiny Terror
- 2x12 w/greenbacks
-MXR ZW-44 Overdrivel
- MXR Phase 90
- EB Volume JR.
- Boss DD-3
Quote by mellorocker