Dunno where to put this so...

So, we got the most awesome assignment in our music class, where we are to write a piece of music that sounds like it could've been written by your idol. The purpose of this assignment, according to our rather weird music teacher, is to learn something on the way.
Being a guitarist, I chose Slash (mind you, I could've gone for Vai or Buckethead, but that had been too much to ask for ) and now I gotta write a solo that sounds like something he could've written.

I know for a fact that he uses a lot of pentatonics, but are there any other modes/scales that he uses which I can put in my solo?

I plan to let it start rather slow and build up towards the end. Any tips are welcome!

Quote by Ichikurosaki
sloth is hacking away feebly at the grass because he is a sloth but he was trying so hard ;_; hes all "penguin im HERE i am here to help you penguin"
Light is faster than sound. That is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

Quote by Scott3229
if i wanted to get brain washed and then throw all my money away, id go to church

"I see, you've been blinded by what you believe" Sully Erna
Bends, bends. Bend from a non-chord tone to a chord tone!
The "Popped Collar" Award(Sexiest)
Elvenkindje

The "Rest In Real Life" Award(Best Past MT Mod)
Elvenkindje
pentatonic is it.
that's all slash really used. ever. at all haha

maybe a bit of the blues scale to add some flavor to it...
That sir, is genius! *imagines starting the backwards SCOM-riff*

But my teacher would know right away. He is a musical genius. I think he's a descendant from Mozart, you should hear him on the piano. Too bad he is such a strange guy.
Quote by Ichikurosaki
sloth is hacking away feebly at the grass because he is a sloth but he was trying so hard ;_; hes all "penguin im HERE i am here to help you penguin"
Use loads and loads of minor pentatonic bends and the odd cliched lick. That should do the trick.
I have nothing to say