Hey everybody, I started playing guitar in August, but I wasn't progressing very well, and i got kinda bored so i quit. Well eventually somebody told me about this site, and I found a whole bunch of tabs, and my motivation went way up every since I learned that i can play a few songs, my favorite being Iron Man. So for the past week and a half i started playing again and have been practising guitar with a high level of motivation, and i get even more motivated with the progress that i can see in a couple of days after I started practising scales regularly. and now I am practicing chords too.

Anyway, my question is what exactly should I be practising? Right now I practice the basic major scales, and open chords. Should I be practising arpeggios and other things too? When should I start practising more advanced things?
learn all the major and minor scales, pentatonic scales, major chords, minor chords, barre chords then move up
Um.. you should practice your down-stroke picking, up-stroke picking, alternate picking, vibratos, bends, but mostly scales and chords. Then learn some more songs for motaivation!
^Lawl. Learn how to read tablature, which is the format of most songs you'll find transcripted on the internet. Now do what i did, type in Misc for the band name, and go to Misc. Then learn really simple songs like twinkle twinkle little star, and also try to play songs you like. While doing this read up about scales, chords, and etc. Then if you get bored , try making up your own little tunes.
The Mariachi Player of the Church of Zeppelinism. PM TheHeartbreaker to join

Quote by soulfly_freak
men were given a brain and a penis, and only enough blood to use one at a time...

Member #2 of Rory Gallagher Fan Club PM dazzler16 to Join
Quote by Nyne
Aren't Americans just so silly and fat?

no

and to the threadstarter

1- buttsecks

2- keep practicing scales, learn some solos and some riffs and you'll be fine