I started to play the bass guitar, I would say, about 3 years ago. I picked up my friend's Squier Standard P-Bass with the original pickups replaced by dimarzio (i think they were) split p pickups...

The bass is great, but I think I'm ready to take it to the next level.

Now, I don't know if this is weird or not, but I never read a book, took a lesson, read a website, etc. regarding what I play... basically my guitarist showed me the chords he plays and I started playing the root note, then I figured out how to fool around and improvise off of the chords to make the bass lines more interesting.

I just recently decided to look at tabs (first time in 3 years...) which can be helpful at times.

ANyway, I'm ready to step it up.

I have small hands (not tiny, but not big) and it puts some stress when playing faster bass lines (we play punk, so that's usually the case)...is the fretboard on a Jazz bass smaller than a P bass?

basically I just need a strong clean sound to compliment my guitarists overdriven distorted sound...

I don't want to break the bank, and was considering getting a squier (ehh) jazz bass, but maybe I should step it up and get a standard jazz bass? any help?

Sorry if I rambled.

B.Rocka
The jazzbass neck is much smaller then the neck on a P-bass so maybe a deluxe P-Bass? IT is a P-bass with jazzbass neck
always go for the more expensive thing, i don't know about the neck, i think the jazz bases have slighlty longer necks but i might be wrong. go for the fender instead of squier, its better to invest slightly more and have a longer lasting and better quality instrument rather then end up spending the money for a fender in a few years when you decide to update the squier instead of getting a decent amp or something
i say MIM Jazz. people love the p-bass special on UG. but i find the jazz better. the neck jazz pickup is so awesome.. look at JPJs tone and see
Dissonance is Bliss

Signal Chain:
Carvin CT-4
Ibanez TS-9
Carvin Quad-X