In physics at school they are just starting learning about circuits. Being very bored with the material I've decided to add some extras to the project we're doing.

We need to wire a model house with lights, but I'd like to put two or three glowing preamp tubes on the roof. Is there a basic circuit I can use to achieve this? I do not need it to perform any other function, but maybe I'll learn something before I try building an amp by myself.

Can I just connect a power supply to a tube, or will that cause damage without anything else in the circuit?
Member #1 of the Ibanez RG5xx & up club
PM tombo32 to join < 110% credit to t2russo

Ibanez RG1570
Tone Zone
Paf Pro
Aria STG-003DX
Traynor YCV50 Blue
Dunlop Classic Crybaby
Boss DD-20
MXR ZW-44
Boss TU-2
I'm no tube expert, but I think you would just have to power the heaters on the tubes.
"Everybody, one day will die and be forgotten. Act and behave in a way that will make life interesting and fun. Find a passion, form relationships, don't be afraid to get out there and fuck what everyone else thinks."
^-+1. You just have to wire the tubes heaters (pins 4,5,9 on a 12AX7) for a 12v power supply. But I dont think they are going to glow as much as you may be thinking.
Thanks for the quick replies,

I don't really know how much glow I am expecting, just wanted to do something a little unusual for the project. I'm paired with mexican_shred so we'll probably post a few pictures after it's done. We're hoping to make it into a real "house amp". If we can put his pocket amp back together.
Member #1 of the Ibanez RG5xx & up club
PM tombo32 to join < 110% credit to t2russo

Ibanez RG1570
Tone Zone
Paf Pro
Aria STG-003DX
Traynor YCV50 Blue
Dunlop Classic Crybaby
Boss DD-20
MXR ZW-44
Boss TU-2
Sounds cool
Quote by Unforgivable
LesPaulMarshalls ace!
Quote by Dudage
LesPaulMarshall, you friggin rock!
Quote by adrian_brown89