i'm a serious musician and there is a serious band that i have been jamming and auditioning with, they are experienced musicians and i would love to join their band....the only problem is the lead guitarist. he always rags on me about the way i make power chords, i make them like this:

say u have powerchord like this .

--3-- now the way i play it is a place my pointer on
--3-- the fifth fret and use my pinky to bar the 3's
--5-- as this is the most comfortable for me

the way the lead guitarist says to do it is to put ur pointer on the fifth fret but use ur ring finger for the 3rd fret a string and ur pinky for the 3rd fret d string.

what should i do or say to him, i've always been told to play the way that is most comfortable to me, i've been playing the way i do for more than 3 years, i can't just change...should i just say i don't want to be in the band??
i play drums and guitar :
Can you play them? Does it sound ok?

If the answer is yes, then he's just being anal. As long as it sounds ok that should be all thats important. Don't try switching just for this band, do it if you want to,
God knows I don't want to be an angel

PSN ID: MattIgoe
Wii ID: 7810 3870 3554 5359
Gamertag: MattIgoe
How do you put your pointer on the 5 and your pinky on the 3? Thats backwards...unless you are lefty.

Upon closer examination of what I said...I realized that even lefty, that still would not work. You either do it completely wrong, or mistyped.
Last edited by Dirge Humani at Jan 29, 2007,
Sometimes the comfortable way restricts you, for example, I find it comfortable to put more or less all of my thumb-finger behind the fret board whilst shredding, although if I were to put the tip of my thumb behind the fretboard, I could reach further on the fretboard, although I find it very uncomfortable.

It's the same in your situation, although I can't quite possibly see the advantage of playing a chord his way. To me, if you're comfortable with it, I see indifference.
¤´¨留話 請留話 請在我說完後