Now I'm no expert at theory. Far from it. I know a bit about chord progessions (I-IV-V, II-V-I... etc), but with some of Clapton's songs, I've noticed (at first glance) that they stray from the key.

Example:

Bell Bottom Blues.

Progression goes - CMajor, EMajor, AMajor, Cmajor, FMajor, GMajor, FMajor, G7.
It sounds great, but surely all these chords aren't in the same key? How did he come up with this? Did he put it together just because it sounds good... or is there some progression rule that I don't know about yet.

Something similar happens in Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out. Another of my favourites.

CMajor, E7, A7, Dminor, A7, Dminor, FMajor, F#dim7, CMajor, A7, D7, G7.

Now, on a website I was looking at (http://12bar.de ... or something like that) the guy offered an explanation...

"This chord progression uses the cycle of fifth: E7 is the fifth (V) of A7, A7 is the V of Dm and D7, D7 is the V of G7, and G7 is finally the V of C."

Does this sort of thing happen often? Is there any other techniques you use similar to this? Use some 4ths maybe? Let me know.

I know that The Blues is built around the release of tension, major/minor ambiguity... etc. How could I expand my knowledge of Blues progressions? Because I'm clearly missing out by know only the most common progressions (I-IV-V, I7-IV7-V7).

I'd appreciate if anyone could fill in the gaps for me, because I really want to be able to play (and more importantly...) WRITE, songs similar to that on the Layla Album.

Thanks.
I, too, am no theory expert, but I think he comes up with some of those chords via substitution.

To me, Am sounds like C just as Em sounds like G.
And D9 sounds similar to D7.
And Dm9 sounds kind of like D9.
Cmaj7 sounds like a bunch of things like G, Cmajor, etc.

I'm trying to learn the terminology for all of these phenomena (like "relative minors" in the case of G = Em, etc).

Hope that was a help...