ok, i'm really sorry if this is in the wrong forums, but this is about as close as i thought i could get to the subject. if its wrong, tell me, and i'll happily move it. (or find out how to do that)

ok, im 17 and have been playing guitar for about 6 months. recently a band that i know basically split up, but two of them are going to keep it going. they needed emergency members to play a gig in two weeks and things though, and they asked me. i said yeah, and then they told me they need me to play on the album they are going to record in a few weeks. this is a great opportunity, but how the hell am i going to do this?

the band play around my area regularly and they go in with the shell of a song (verse chorus and vocals) and then improvise fills onto the top of it. i dont know what im going to do though, i'm still learning basic songs, and the only other thing iv'e done for the past 6 months is alternate pick scales to get my speed up.

does anyone have any tips on how to basically improvise or put fills on top of a song. something simple that can be learnt quick? btw they are very bluesy (not my type of thing, but a friend in need eh?)

any tips or advice for me would be appreciated. i just dont wanna let my mates down, because they were all very experienced, and i kind of want to make my first appearance as a guitarist look pretty good, ya know.

thanks everyone
i think you might want to turn down the offer mate.. seriously, 6months only??

you still need time to grow as a guitarist.. take it easy

im sure they will understand. Sorry if this lets you down a little. But its the truth..
"I don't mind making sissy rock. I'll rock your ass sensitive style" - John Mayer
Play a small coffee house or even in front of some friends to get your confidence up. A guitarist is only as good as the songs he learns, so just focus on the selection you're gonna play w/ your friend's band.