ahoy, i have been playing guitar for a couple years now, i like to discover new things and try them out as often as possible. i like to play a lot of blues and blues based music. Today i discovered that aswell as being able to play the major and minor pentatonic scales of the root chord thruoghout (with plenty of other passing tones added in) i can change the scale i'm using over the IV and V chords, specifically to major scales with the root of those chords. But i am not sure exactly which ones, so i have just been playing major pentatonics and trying to add in mixolydian notes and lydian and notes in various places to figure out which exact major scale is sounding good over each chord change. So for example in twelve bar E up comes the B chord and i'll be playing B major pentatonic and trying to see which other major scale notes sound good, and then comes the A and i'll be doing the same with an A major pentatonic and various passing tones, but to me none of them sound drastically wrong, and i guess that's a good thing, if it sounds right it is right and it's an argument for being more creative, but if there are any theory buffs out there can you please tell me 'technically' speaking, or strictly according to theory, which would be the right major scales to be playing, if you had to use the word 'right'. Thanks you guys,
haha ahoy. god i love pirates
Quote by screamingfool34
people here are idiot.
Quote by Mr_H_MASTER
the only good wahs out there are Slashs, Zacks, and Dimebags.
Quote by evan1234567
im to tired and confused to comprehend what you said.
BLUES SCALE!!!

The best scale there ever was.
Quote by funkdaddyfresh
justin, that was easily the most inspiring, helpful piece of advice anyone has ever given me in regards to my musical pursuits.

Screaming Help
you've completely misunderstood justin, blues scale is what i was broadly refering too when i said minor/major pentatonic with passing tones etc. i'm talking about something different now.