so im new to the bass im a good guitar player but my friend needed somone to play bass for his new band i said i would give it a shot since bass should be easyier than guitar.. is this really the case or am i over confident? and what should i be able to aply from my gutiar playin to bass playing?
Cmstar90: i have too lisen to a song for hours just to figure out of one part it sound and how to move my fingers tso that it sounds that way
Cmstar90: when u seem to figure it out in seconds
since you said your good at guitar, you could show off and do improvised bass solos, lol
Quote by Gunpowder
The Pit is to intelligence what a black hole is to light; it's devoid of reason and logic, and nothing can escape it's shadowy depths. Once you enter, you cannot leave.
haha i could im watchin vids of bass players tryin to figure out whats good to play so far i've gatherd they play alot of ovtaves and it looks fun with slappin technics
Cmstar90: i have too lisen to a song for hours just to figure out of one part it sound and how to move my fingers tso that it sounds that way
Ok, first off bass =/= easy. Different yes, easy no. In some ways, if you want to excel, its harder. Unless you are happy in root note hell.

Your knowledge of chords and scales will be helpful. Solos will be similar to lead guitar but your fingering technigues (left hand) are slightly different. Rhythm and providing that rhythm foundation for the music is more important than guitar. Remember you are the bridge between the drums and the rest of the band. You are going to have to lock in with the drummer in a very solid way as a bass player.

Play bass because you want and love to play bass, not because you have to. Too many people take up bass because of a need in the band not because they want to. Some of these people end up very good bass players, but others seem to feel they were "demoted"; these make very poor and frustrated players.
Quote by anarkee