Hey guys, i got a Washburn XB125 that is sitting collecting dust, i havnt used it since i got my XB925. i stripped it of its strings and straplocks, so it now sits and looks pretty.

so, to give it a fighting chance in the world of getting played, i feel like modding it.

so i come to you for ideas. its a basic intro 5 string bass. its got active electronics (2 band, and a blend) and a 20 fret neck, stock everything.

so what should i do to it? i was thinking a de fret, and possibly an electronics and tuner upgrade. if so, what kind of electronics should i go with? and is there anything else i should do to it?

thoughts?
Recognised by the Official Who To Listen To List 2012

Quote by steven seagull
You don't argue with tubadude on Washburn-related matters, he flosses with the G string from a set of 0.12's y'know....and it's WOUND!
Im no bass expert
but
I reckon if you defret it you will have to change the fingerboard as you will just be left with slots in the board
^ Nope, you add wood filler in the slots. Which gives you handy lines!

TS, I'd recommend upgrading the tuners (an easy, cheap mod)...look into Hipshot, etc.

You could also switch the pups, maybe throw in some Seymour Duncans or EMGs.

If you wanted to be really extreme, you could consider installing a Kahler whammy bar. Only if you have access to a good router and some experience with it, though.

Quote by MetalUpTheAss
Sounds to me like an excuse.

"Honey, I've got to buy a new bass! This diamond is made of a dead guy! I made him a promise!"

Most Bitter/Cynical member of the Bass Militia. PM DinkyDaisy to join.
Last edited by canadianpunk071 at Feb 1, 2007,
ive defret a bass, yes, you will have slots, but you fill them.

its not a problem, and is a common thing to do

tuners will be done, but isnt a priority, i never had problems with them, plus, it has a bone nut already.

im no good with a router, and i dont know anyone who is, so i would like to keep heavy body modifications to none.