I started guitar about 6 months, ago, I got bored, and quit for about 3 weeks. Then i kept listening to more and more metal, and it re-motivated me back to playing. I'am not sure what i should be working on, since I'm completely self-taught, and never had a lesson. Any advice would help!

Thanks,

~Matt
R.I.P Dimebag
If your in to metal, learn some power chords. Its not really the best starting place theory wise but it is fun and will keep you interested.
get some lessons dude because it sounds like ur really really lost lol.

(A recent study shows that 92% of all teenagers have moved on to rap music. Put this in your profile if you are one of the 8% who stayed with the real music)

BUY MY DW 7002 DOUBLE BASS PEDAL
Not really.. I mean I can play some riffs.. I just need to know what should I work on now?
R.I.P Dimebag
Well, first off. What all do you know?
~ Gear ~
Epiphone Les Paul
Crate GX-80
Quote by Guitarist132
Finish the quote

"This is _______"
Quote by Aqua Dementia
SPAAAAAAAARRRRTTTAAA! No?
Quote by Guitarist132
Incorrect, the correct answer was papua new guinea

Quote by Aqua Dementia
Whoa, I'm in your sig.
but ur not gonna get anywhere with just knowing some riffs.

(A recent study shows that 92% of all teenagers have moved on to rap music. Put this in your profile if you are one of the 8% who stayed with the real music)

BUY MY DW 7002 DOUBLE BASS PEDAL
Scales is good place to learn. Boring to learn but IMO most fun thing once you figure it out.
Learn songs you like to keep you interested too. Like the ibanex_guru said play some power chord riffs etc.
Guitars:
Epiphone Elitist Les Paul Custom WCR and Dimarzio equipped
Amp:
Marshall 2266 Vintage Modern
Marshall 1960TV
Effects:
Dunlop Crybaby From Hell
If your a bit more advance, start to speed up your barre chords I gather they are quite important in metal.
Here are couple of ideas.
Choose 3 riffs you can play and modify them a bit so they sound a bit more like 'yours'