So I started practicing using my third finger. I started off with basic right hand techniques ( 1 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 1 finger pattern), then I started doing chromatics and stuff. Anyway I talked to a friend of mine at school who is one of the top bass players there, and he told me that using your third finger is only for fast triplets...is this the only advantage of learning a third finger?
Its better to regret the things you did, rather than the things you didnt do.
Last edited by Felas_kevin at Feb 3, 2007,
The first half of your post is talking about your fretting hand and your friend is talking about your plucking hand.

So can you rephrase your question?

If we are talking plucking hand. Then it is good for fast triplets but it's also good for just playing.
Bass is my life.
I am talking about the right hand, plucking hand. How is it good for anything but soloing?
If you can learn to use all four fingers without the galloping effect, then that's a very good thing
Last.FM

Quote by Applehead
There are some things in life that are universally "good":

Sex, pizza, the smell of fresh washing and slap bass.
I understand its a "good thing"....but how is it useful in any practical way?
Quote by Greenday389
You can go faster.

I can play much much faster with 2 fingers than with 3. To avoid the 'galloping effect', I play 1-2-3-2-1-2-3, but Billy Sheehan plays 1-2-3-1-2-3. But, for some reason, I just get slowed down when breaking out 3 fingers.

However, if you do use 3 fingers for triplets (i.e. one gallop), it works really well. I recommend using 2, and then 3 for triplets.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
Quote by thefitz