I'm pretty much a complete newbie with bass and wanna start to learn a bit...as i know from guitars u can make a shit guitar sound good out of an amazing guitar amp. Would that be the same thing with a bass guitar? And i played through a Fender Bassman 150 today. Would that amp be good enough to make a Dean Edge sound good? I liked the sound the standard P-bass made through it. Thanks!
Setup:
Ibanez SZ520QM Gold Amber Burst w/ tone zone bridge and Norton Neck
Gibson Faded SG
Fender Hot Rod Deville 212
Pedals
Maxon OD808 pedal
Boss CE-5
Boss Ph-3
EHX Metal Muff
EHX Big Muff Pi
EHX Holy Grail
Danelectro Danecho
im not really sure, you need to try that yourself
Gear: 08 Fender MIA Jazz bass,
American Peavey Millenium Plus 4,
GK 1001RBII,
Mesa/Boogie RR215,
Schecter C-1 Classic.
i would but the problem is the dean is in one store and the fender amp is in another store...which is the problem
Setup:
Ibanez SZ520QM Gold Amber Burst w/ tone zone bridge and Norton Neck
Gibson Faded SG
Fender Hot Rod Deville 212
Pedals
Maxon OD808 pedal
Boss CE-5
Boss Ph-3
EHX Metal Muff
EHX Big Muff Pi
EHX Holy Grail
Danelectro Danecho
oh boy, i imagine it wouldnt sound bad at all.
Gear: 08 Fender MIA Jazz bass,
American Peavey Millenium Plus 4,
GK 1001RBII,
Mesa/Boogie RR215,
Schecter C-1 Classic.
Why not bring your bass to the store? I've done that, they didn't mind. I have a Bassman 250 and it's fantastic. It makes my really good basses sound better :P

One thing I will say is that a Fender Bassman's semi-parametric EQ is a very useful tool, but it's very very scary for newbies. You should definitely read up on EQing before you try using it. Otherwise, leave it flat.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
are you retarded man? bass and guitar are 2 completely different instruments, u think ur "guitar knowledge" is gonna apply to bass at all!?