i searched and didnt find the answer im looking for

okay...lets say i play a chord prog. like

C, Em, G (key of C you all know)

and i play C ionian okay...

but if i want to play aeolian, its a aeolian i get that...but i dont get why its like that...how am i shifting the scale and stuff...im so confused with these...im self taught...but im confused whats the formula itll be so much easier for me that way lol

but for easy's sake...keep it key and c and tell me how i would do this...i dont get it please clear this up for me please im desperate lol

edit: is aeolian WHWWHWW? what would the formula still be...
"Shifting the scale" This is a problem with people not learning theory.

A Aeolian has the same notes as C Ionian, but it is in the key of A.
its just similar i get that i know its not the "same" what i meant when i said shifting was altering or w/e...modes is just a different way to put the scale or something like that....but..

im still so confused....
bleh
its just similar i get that i know its not the "same" what i meant when i said shifting was altering or w/e...modes is just a different way to put the scale or something like that....but..

im still so confused....
bleh

It's not similar, it's the same, as in it's exactly the same scale. The modes are just different ways of describing the same scale - the aeolian is the 6th mode of the major scale meaning in the case of C, you play the exact same notes as c major, but simply start the pattern from the 6th note of the scale, which is A in this case.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com