I''ve been playing guitar for about a year. When beside a guitarist from my school I'm right there up top with my playing, BUT I have no clue of theory, I can look at tabs and learn what I desire, but I wanna go further. I have always been interested in writing music and songs and now I'm ready to take that step. I have no knowledge of the music talk such as the circle of fifths, and so on. I tried the lesson here on UG but got confused, so could somone here help me step by step with theory and all I need to know? I have aim, sn is "a battled reaper" I really want to learn all I can about theory and everything to improve my playing and knowledge. thanks.
that's what I've been looking at, the ver first section on intervals confuses me, wht does it mean by "augmented" and "unison" also where it says

You have 4 perfect intervals. Unison, Fourth, Fifth, and Octave. A perfect interval inverts to a perfect interval, and when you ad the interval numbers together, you will always get 9. So if you know a P4 inverts to another perfect interval, you know (9-4 = 5, P inverts to P) so a P4 inverts to a P5. Same thing with unison. Unison inverts to the octave. The other intervals (2, 3, 6, 7) are either minor or major, and a major interval inverts to a minor one, and vise versa. So with your formula, you can find that a minor third inverts to a major sixth (3 + 6 = 9)

what's all the adding and P4, etc. mean?
what helped me is typing in google guitar music theory or something and a link came up that was somewhere along the line of like "the best theory for guitarists" or something like that and then I took 6 pages of notes in a notebook. Now I know alot of it just from writing it all down, the definitions of a whole bunch of crap and stuff, and just a general idea of what to do in different situations. plus i have a handy guide if i ever forget anything.